top of page
  • Writer's pictureREFORMING AMERICA

Broken Pottery

Written by Lauren Cohen, 15, Florida


We strive for equality. We rise for opportunity. We lie in the arms of ability. These are the words that fall out of my mouth like a broken piece of pottery. I am shattered and cannot be put back together. My best friend was groped at the age of six. She was then raped at the age of ten and was raped again, and again. This was the day my life changed forever. This was the day that I realized I could make a difference. This was the day I fought for her justice.


This is the story of a young, twelve year old girl learning that her best friend was raped. This is not the story of a young, twelve year old girl staying quiet and sitting down. I rose up and I fought, yet I’m still fighting. I am fighting for all that have ever been abused. I am fighting for minorities and priorities. I am fighting for the people of this earth that have not received their justice. Change is coming and I am a part of it. This is me.

21 views0 comments
bottom of page