top of page
  • Writer's pictureReforming America

An Open Letter To Donald Trump

Written By: Pranjal Jain, 17, NY

Dear Mr. Trump,


I am writing to you to share my opinions and to make my voice heard. I doubt you’ll hear

my voice though, because you are a victim of selective hearing. You only listen to those who

share the same privilege, gender, and skin color as you.

My name is Pranjal Jain. I am 17 years old. I am female. I have brown skin. I spent the

first seven years of my life in this country undocumented. I am a minority in many aspects, but

my opinions are of the majority.


It seems as each year of your presidency passes, you continue to spread hateful

rhetoric. You may not realize the unleashing potential and effects of your actions as President

because let’s face it; no one really cared what you did as a businessman. However, as

President, your actions hold immense sway. It has been 3 years since you’ve held the ultimate

office of our illustrious nation and in that short amount of time you have: normalized sexual

assault-- whether it be your obvious condoning of grabbing women by the “pussy” or you urging

the approval of Justice Kavanaugh-- criminalized and defamed all immigrants, and infringed on

women’s reproductive rights. As much as you tried to make your State of the Union a spectacle

displaying all the great things you’ve done for America, to me, it sounded like a list of how

you’ve fucked America and its people over.


My biggest grievance from the State of the Union was your unrelenting begging for a wall

to protect Americans from the evil, illegal immigrants. Firstly, not all immigrants are criminals,

and with your constant references to the immigrants that have supposedly infiltrated our country

and increased crime rate and human trafficking, you are embedding the notion in Americans

that all immigrants are outlaws. Why would you shape immigrants as that? In an immigrant

nation, if the leader himself uses such hateful rhetoric, divides are bound to be created. While

you fight for a wall between Mexico and the United States, you should know that you have

already created mini-walls across the country. The walls an immigrant puts up to hide from

hateful glances; the walls a native creates to avoid truly understanding immigrants-- they are all

your creations. Congratulations, you can declare mission accomplished.


These missions, however, have ruined the lives of so many. I won’t speak on behalf of

the many across the country who are obviously suffering more than I am. I want to talk to you

about how your actions affect me. Like mentioned before, I was undocumented for the first

seven years of my life. However, I didn’t know that. I had no idea that coming to this country

was a struggle for me. In fact, I found out two years ago.

Two years ago, my dad’s friend shocked me with her question: “don’t you remember

when you were an illegal immigrant, Pranjal?” It was at that moment where my life truly took a

turn.


It’s crazy to think how ten words changed me. I felt a true sense of clarity. I no longer felt

obliged to try to assimilate into American culture because frankly, I wasn’t just American. I was

Indian-American, and knowing that I was an immigrant strengthened my identity and desires. I

finally felt more willing to embrace the dual cultures I grew up with. For the first time, I wasn’t

ashamed of talking in Hindi in front of my white friends. I wasn’t ashamed to listen to my

Bollywood music while on my way to school. But more importantly, I felt a new sense of

purpose.


I began to empathize with immigrants more. Anytime I heard a snide comment about

immigrants or a painful story, I took it personally. I wanted to help people who were like me. Not

knowing my origins left me confused for so long, and everyone deserves to know who they are

and where they come from. With a more defined identity and purpose in life, I finally felt

belonging in this nation.


Today, I am a citizen. I grew up never knowing I was an illegal immigrant and thinking

that I was 100% American. Yet, Mr. Trump, your comments still hurt me. You force me every

day to hide my identity just in case some anti-immigrant person discovers my past and attacks

me for it. You normalized spiteful immigrant rhetoric. You make me ashamed to be an

immigrant. However, there is immense power in being an immigrant. There is power in having a

different cultural and geographical past shaping you. We are not how you attempt to paint us to

be. We deserve justice and representation, and as surprising as this may seem, I have begun to

feel better represented recently.


You have taken America back 50 years, but along with the reversal of the clock, you

have inspired some badass people to make their voices heard. I am 17, and I feel well

represented by young activists and young members of Congress. I am a female and looking out

and seeing the sea of women wearing suffragist white made me feel empowered.


The United States has a long way to go until I, and those like me feel genuinely

represented, but we have made immense strides. America has a habit of rising from adversity,

and your presidency has been our most recent obstacle. The troublemakers and rebels you

have inspired will be the future of America, and I cannot thank you enough for awakening our

powerful spirits. Because in times of turmoil, there always rises the heroes and heroines.


In Resistance,

Pranjal Jain

36 views0 comments
bottom of page